About the SCV
Join the SCV
Staff / Divisions
Upcoming Events
Contact Us

Like Us on Facebook




Army of Trans-Mississippi

The Army of the Trans-Mississippi

The Army of the Trans-Mississippi was a major Confederate army under the Department of the Trans-Mississippi during the American Civil War. It was the last major Confederate command to surrender, submitting on May 26, 1865, exactly one month after General Johnston had surrendered in the eastern United States.

The Department of the Trans-Mississippi separated from the Western Department of the Confederacy on May 26, 1862. It consisted primarily of the four Confederate states west of the Mississippi: Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, and Missouri and included two Confederate territories - the Indian Territory and Confederate Arizona (roughly corresponding to the present-day states of Oklahoma, New Mexico, and Arizona). The command of the area was given to Major-General T. H. Holmes. The Trans-Mississippi was the operational theater for many quasi-independent forces, including Quantrill's Raiders and the Missouri Bushwhackers.

The Army of the Trans-Mississippi originally numbered well over 50,000 troops, but fewer than 43,000 were available by the end of the war. Major campaigns included Sibley's New Mexico campaign, Banks' Red River campaign, and Price's Missouri campaign. The last battle of the Civil War, the Battle of Palmito Ranch, was fought on May 12-13 1865 by units of the Army of the Trans-Mississippi.

General E. Kirby Smith, who commanded the Army, surrendered to Union forces on May 26, 1865, although by that point many of his troops had already deserted. The last remaining Army of the Trans-Mississippi force – and also the last remaining Confederate force – was the 1st Cherokee Mounted Rifles, commanded by Brigadier-General Stand Watie. Watie surrendered on June 23.


Trans-Mississippi Army, I Corps (Headquartered at Shreveport, Department of Louisiana)
          This corps was organized under the command of Simon Bolivar Buckner
Trans-Mississippi Army, II Corps (Department of Arkansas and Missouri)
          This corps was organized on August 4, 1864 under the command of John B. Magruder
Trans-Mississippi Army, III Corps (Headquartered at Galveston, Department of Texas)
          This corps was organized on August 4, 1864 under the command of John George Walker.
Trans-Mississippi Army, Cavalry Corps
          The Cavalry Corps was organized on August 4, 1864 under the command of Sterling Price.
Trans-Mississippi Army, Reserve Corps
          The Reserve Corps was established on September 10, 1864 to support the Trans-Mississippi Army.


Today the Army of the Trans-Mississippi is one of the three Army Departments of the Sons of Confederate Veterans, and is by far the largest Army in the SCV. The Army of Trans-Mississippi consists of 24 states and as of July 13th contained some 7,126 members.

Army of Trans-Mississippi


While you are here, make sure you visit our Chaplain's Comments!


Charge to the Sons of Confederate VeteransLt. Gen. Stephen Dill Lee

"To you, Sons of Confederate Veterans, we will commit the vindication of the cause for which we fought. To your strength will be given the defense of the Confederate soldier's good name, the guardianship of his history, the emulation of his virtues, the perpetuation of those principles which he loved and which you love also, and those ideals which made him glorious and which you also cherish."

Lt. General Stephen Dill Lee, Commander General,
United Confederate Veterans,
New Orleans, Louisiana April 25, 1906

Make Dixie Great Again

The song playing in the background is "Sons of Confederate Veterans", written and Produced by Compatriot Harry King and sung by Compatriot Har Rober of the 1st Lt. David Richard Reynolds Camp #2270, Mount Pleasant, Texas